You are here

Research Programs

A talented community of investigators has helped McLean sustain its decades long leadership in neuroscience. Each and everyday McLean researchers are working to better understand the neurobiological basis of psychiatric disease and translate their scientific findings into evidence-based approaches to care.


McLean has integrated the hospital's clinical care, research and education activities into programmatically based divisions. This divisional structure is dedicated to and geared for translating science into care of the highest quality.

Angiogenesis and Brain Development Laboratory

  • Anju Vasudevan, PhD, Director

Behavioral Genetics Laboratory

  • Bill Carlezon, PhD, Director

Bio-Organic and Natural Products Research Laboratory

  • David Yue-Wei Lee, PhD, Director

Cellular Neurobiology Laboratory

  • Vadim Bolshakov, PhD, Director

Integrative Neurobiology Laboratory

  • Christopher W. Cowan, PhD, Director

Laboratory for Cellular Neuropathology

  • T. Wilson Woo, MD, PhD, Director

Laboratory for Computational Neuroscience

  • Peter Siekmeier, MS, MD, Director

Laboratory for Psychiatric and Molecular Neuroscience

  • Joseph T. Coyle, MD, Director

Laboratory of Developmental Neuropharmacology

  • Susan L. Andersen, PhD, Director

Laboratory of Genetic Neuropharmacology

  • Uwe Rudolph, Dr med, Director

Laboratory of Psychiatric Neurogenomics

  • Zhicheng (Carl) Lin, PhD, Director

Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory

  • Kwang-Soo Kim, PhD, Director

Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior Laboratory

  • Elena H. Chartoff, PhD, Director

Neuroscience and Behavioral Pharmacology Laboratory

  • S. Barak Caine, PhD, Director

Psychiatric Neuroscience Laboratory

  • Frank I. Tarazi, MBBS, PhD, MBA, Director

Translational Neuroscience Laboratory

  • Sabina Berretta, MD, Director

Translational Psychiatry Laboratory

  • Darrick T. Balu, PhD, Director

Translational Stem Cell Neurobiology Laboratory

  • Sangmi Chung, PhD, Director

Anxiety and Traumatic Stress Disorders Laboratory

  • Isabelle M. Rosso, PhD, Director

Behavioral Health Partial Clinical Research Program

  • Thröstur Björgvinsson, PhD, ABPP, Director

Child and Adolescent Mood Disorders Laboratory

  • Randy P. Auerbach, PhD, ABPP, Director

Clinical Psychopharmacology Research Program

  • J. Alexander Bodkin, MD, Director

Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT) Research

  • Stephen J. Seiner, MD, Director

Laboratory for Translational and Affective Neuroscience

  • Diego A. Pizzagalli, PhD, Director

Motivated Learning and Memory Lab

  • Daniel G. Dillon, PhD, Director

Neurobiology of Fear Laboratory

  • Kerry J. Ressler, MD, PhD, Director

OCDI Office of Clinical Assessment and Research

  • Jason A. Elias, PhD, Director of Clinical Research

Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS) Research

  • Oscar G. Morales, MD, Director

International Consortium for Bipolar & Psychotic Disorders Research

  • Ross J. Baldessarini, MD, Director

Program for Neuropsychiatric Research

  • Bruce M. Cohen, MD, PhD, Director

Psychology Research Laboratory

  • Deborah Levy, PhD, Director

Psychopharmacology Research Program

  • Franca Centorrino, MD, Director

Psychosis Neurobiology Laboratory

  • Mei-Hua Hall, PhD, Director

Schizophrenia and Bipolar Disorder Research Program

  • Dost Öngür, MD, PhD, Director

Visual Psychophysiology Laboratory

  • Yue Chen, PhD, Director

Behavioral Psychopharmacology Research Laboratory

  • Scott E. Lukas, PhD, Director

Shervert H. Frazier Research Institute

Harvard Brain Tissue Resource Center

  • T. Wilson Woo, MD, PhD, Medical Director
  • Sabina Berretta, MD, Scientific Director

Health Services Research

  • Alisa Busch, MD, MS, Director

McLean Hospital-Chinese Society of Psychiatry Initiative in Psychiatry

Neuroregeneration Research Institute

  • Ole Isacson, Dr Med Sci, Director

Psychiatric Biostatistics Laboratory

  • Garrett M. Fitzmaurice, ScD, Director

© 2016 McLean Hospital. All Rights Reserved