Jane Fonda Receives the 2014 McLean Award

June 21, 2014

Cultural icon Jane Fonda was this year’s recipient of the McLean Award, which is given annually to people who have furthered the public’s understanding of psychiatric illness and mental health. Previous honorees include David O. Russell, Glenn Close, and Mariel Hemingway.

Fonda was recognized for her mental health advocacy and for raising public awareness about issues such as eating disorders, trauma, postpartum depression, bipolar disorder and suicide. Her many achievements include two Academy Awards for Best Actress, three Golden Globe Awards, an Emmy Award and starring roles in countless highly acclaimed television, film, and theater productions.

Jane Fonda
Jane Fonda

Her recently released book, Being A Teen: Everything Teen Girls & Boys Should Know About Relationships, Sex, Love, Health, Identity & More, landed on the New York Times Bestseller List and is quickly becoming an important guide to young people as they navigate the many challenges of adolescence. In it she cites the Klarman Eating Disorders Center at McLean Hospital as a valuable nation-wide resource, both for treatment and information.

Fonda graciously accepted the award before members of the McLean community at the hospital’s Annual Dinner on June 20, 2014, at the InterContinental Boston hotel.

Media Requests

Journalist or member of the media?
We are available 24/7 for media requests.